Search

Fact Sheets

The detail of this page

Companies Registration and Insolvency Administration

  1. Main Services: The Companies Registry (“the Registry”) is responsible for administering and enforcing the provisions of the Companies Ordinance and related legislation. Its primary functions include the registration of local and non-Hong Kong companies (i.e. companies incorporated outside Hong Kong which have established a place of business in Hong Kong); the registration of statutory returns and documents required by the various ordinances administered by the Registry; the provision of services for members of the public to inspect and obtain company information held on the various statutory registers; the deregistration of defunct solvent companies; and advising the Government on policy, regulatory and legislative issues regarding company law, related legislation and corporate governance. The Registry also processes applications relating to money lender licences and maintain a register of money lenders for public inspection. Since March 1, 2018, the Registry has acted as the licensing authority for trust and company service providers.

    As at March 31, 2019, there were 1 377 000 local companies on the register comprising 767 public, 14 241 guarantee and 1 361 992 private companies. The time required for online registration of a new local company is less than one hour. It takes four working days for applications delivered in hard copy form. As at March 31, 2019, 11 166 non-Hong Kong companies from 82 countries were registered. The time required for the registration of a non-Hong Kong company is 10 working days as from April 1, 2019.

    From January 1 to December 31, 2018, a total of 3 592 892 documents were received for registration, of which the most common were annual returns and forms notifying changes of the address of registered office, directors and company secretaries.

    Members of the public can conduct searches on the current data of registered companies and digitised images of all registered documents at the Registry's Cyber Search Centre (www.icris.cr.gov.hk), at the Registry’s company search mobile platform (www.mobile-cr.gov.hk), or at the Registry's Public Search Centre on the 13th floor of the Queensway Government Offices, 66 Queensway, Hong Kong. Searches on five computerised indices can be conducted in either English or Chinese: The company names index helps one with the incorporation of new companies or changing company names; the document index is a record of all documents companies delivered to the Registry for registration; the directors’ index provides a list of all the directorships held by the directors and reserve directors of registered companies; the register of disqualification orders provides a record of all persons disqualified by the court to act as company directors or other office bearers, and the register of charges provides a list of the registered charges of a company and basic information on each charge.

    Information available on the Registry’s comprehensive computerised database includes basic company information such as the incorporation date and whether it is live or subject to winding up procedures together with additional information such as registered office address (for local companies), address of principal place of business in Hong Kong and particulars of authorized representatives (for registered non-Hong Kong companies), share capital, particulars of current director(s) and reserve director (if any), particulars of company secretary, particulars of receiver and manager and liquidators (if any), and a charges indicator.

    Trading Fund Status: The Registry is a government department which operates on a trading fund basis; meaning that it is required to fund all its expenditure out of the revenue received.

    The Registrar of Companies is the General Manager of the Companies Registry Trading Fund. She is accountable to the Permanent Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury (Financial Services) for managing and operating the Registry's business and achieving its performance targets and financial objectives. The trading fund’s annual report, containing the Director of Audit’s report on the accounts, is tabled in the Legislative Council each year.

    Enhancement of Services and Future Development: The Registry implemented an Integrated Companies Registry Information System (ICRIS) in two phases to fully computerise its core business activities and enable electronic delivery of services. Electronic search services developed under Phase I were launched on February 28, 2005. Phase II covered the development of a portal for electronic incorporation service. With the introduction of a one-stop electronic company incorporation and business registration service at the new “e-Registry” portal (www.eregistry.gov.hk) since March 2011, electronic Certificates of Incorporation and Business Registration Certificates can be issued in one go in less than one hour.

    The Registry has launched a full scale electronic service for submission of annual returns and all specified forms at its e-Registry in March 2015. An Annual Return e-Reminder Service has also been available since August 2012. By using the above-mentioned online submission services, the registration process can be completed in less than 12 hours.

    The Registry has enhanced its Company Search Mobile Service to provide full range of search services and functions in May 2016. In February 2017, the Registry launched the “CR eFiling” free mobile application to enable users of the e-Registry to submit forms using mobile devices. Since November 2017, “CR eFiling” covers 13 commonly filed forms ranging from applications for company incorporation and annual returns to forms for reporting changes of company particulars.

    New Companies Ordinance: In mid-2006, the Government embarked on a comprehensive rewrite of the Companies Ordinance with a view to enhancing Hong Kong’s status as an international commercial and financial centre and its competitiveness. The objectives of the exercise are to enhance corporate governance, facilitate business, ensure better regulation and modernise the law. In January 2011, the Companies Bill was introduced into the Legislative Council and it was passed in July 2012 to become the new Companies Ordinance (CO). The new CO came into operation on March 3, 2014. Based on the operational experience since the commencement of the new CO and feedback from stakeholders, further amendments were made to the CO in 2018. The Companies (Amendment) (No. 2) Ordinance 2018 commenced operation on February 1, 2019 to amend some provisions of the new CO to incorporate new developments, improve the clarify and operation of the new CO and further facilitate business in Hong Kong.

    Licensing Regime for Trust or Company Service Providers: The licensing regime is introduced under the Anti-Money Laundering and Counter Terrorist Financing Ordinance, Chapter 615 (“AMLO”). Under the licensing regime, trust or company service providers (“TCSPs”) are required to apply for a licence from the Registrar and satisfy a “fit-and-proper” test before they can provide trust or company services as a business in Hong Kong. TCSP licensees are required to comply with the statutory customer due diligence and record-keeping requirements as set out in Schedule 2 to the AMLO.

    INSOLVENCY ADMINISTRATION

    Structure: The Official Receiver’s Office, headed by the Official Receiver (OR), was established on June 1, 1992 to take over the powers and perform the duties of the Insolvency Division of the then Registrar General’s Department. The OR, when appointed by the court or creditors, will act as liquidator of companies ordered to be wound-up by the court under the Companies (Winding Up and Miscellaneous Provisions) Ordinance or as trustee-in-bankruptcy of individuals or partnerships declared bankrupt by the court under the Bankruptcy Ordinance.

    The Official Receiver’s Office consists of four divisions, namely, the Case Management Division, the Legal Services Division, the Financial Services Division and the Departmental Administration Division. The Case Management Division is staffed by insolvency grade officers who are responsible for the realisation and distribution of assets, monitoring the conduct of outside liquidators, and trustees and administration of the ordinances relating to winding-up and bankruptcy. The Legal Services Division is staffed by qualified legal officers who handle civil litigation, provide internal general legal advisory services, investigate and prosecute insolvency offenders, and apply for the disqualification of directors of insolvent companies. The Financial Services Division is staffed by treasury and accounting grade officers who perform financial and accounting investigations into insolvency cases, conduct statutory audits of accounts and manage and invest insolvency monies. The Departmental Administration Division is staffed by Executive Officers, Official Languages Officers and clerical grade staff who provide general administration services to facilitate smooth functioning of the department.

    Insolvency Services: Once a bankruptcy order is made by the court against an individual or a winding-up order is made against a company, the OR becomes the provisional trustee of the bankrupt’s property or the provisional liquidator of the company respectively. For estates with estimated assets of not more than $200,000 which represent the vast majority of insolvency cases, the OR may apply to the court for a summary procedure order and will become the trustee or the liquidator of the estates. For non-summary cases, a meeting of creditors and also of contributories (in case of compulsory winding-up) will be held to decide who will be appointed as trustee or liquidator. The OR charges her fees on the amount of assets realised and distributed to creditors, and also on the amount of funds invested. In 2017/2018, there were 7 528 bankruptcy orders and 292 winding-up orders made by the court.

    The OR operates two contracting-out schemes for administration of bankruptcy or compulsory winding-up cases. The first scheme is for contracting out through a tender system debtor petition summary bankruptcy cases with estimated assets of not more than $200,000. The other scheme is for contracting out also through a tender system summary compulsory winding-up cases with estimated realisable assets of not more than $200,000.

    The OR also takes proceedings under Part IVA of the Companies (Winding Up and Miscellaneous Provisions) Ordinance to apply to court for orders against directors of insolvent companies with unfit conduct to disqualify them from being the director of a company. In 2017/2018, a total of 17 disqualification orders were issued by the court.

    Efficiency Improvement and Future Development: The Official Receiver’s Office has pledged to provide in Hong Kong a high quality insolvency service on par with international standards. The objectives are to keep Hong Kong to the forefront as a major international financial centre and to ensure that the best possible services are provided to the public in an open and accountable manner in accordance with the performance standards and targets set.

    Booklets containing the performance pledges of the Official Receiver’s Office and information on bankruptcy, compulsory winding-up of companies and Individual Voluntary Arrangement are available to the public free of charge. There is also a Services Advisory Committee, comprising representatives of major users of the department’s services. Its main function is to provide customer input and suggest improvements to the department’s services.

    The Official Receiver’s Office utilises two major computer systems to assist in its management and data handling. The first is the Insolvency Estates Funds and Accounting System, which provides facility for case management activities and the accounting of estate funds and funds management through the production of enhanced reports and the fast retrieval of financial information; and the other is the Official Receiver’s Office Management Information System which provides accurate and timely insolvency statistics and supports a bilingual public search facility. Since October 2002, on-line search for bankruptcy and compulsory winding-up information can be conducted over the Internet 24 hours a day.

    Improvement of Corporate Insolvency Law: The Government has conducted a comprehensive review of the corporate insolvency provisions under the Companies (Winding Up and Miscellaneous Provisions) Ordinance and the Companies (Winding Up and Miscellaneous Provisions) (Amendment) Ordinance 2016 came into operation in February 2017. The amendment ordinance aims to increase protection of creditors, streamline the winding-up process and strengthen regulation under the winding-up regime. Besides improving the existing corporate insolvency provisions, the Government is proceeding with the formulation of legislative proposals for a new statutory corporate rescue procedure and insolvency trading provisions.  The bill introducing corporate rescue procedure and insolvent trading provisions is planned to be introduced to the Legislative Council in the Legislative Year 2019/2020.


     
Back To Top Button

搜尋

香港便覽

這個頁面的主要內容

公司註冊及破產清盤管理

  1. 主要服務:公司註冊處負責實施及執行《公司條例》與相關法例的規定。該處的主要職能是為本地及非香港公司(即在香港以外成立而在香港設立營業地點的公司)辦理註冊;為該處執行的各項條例所規定提交的法定申報表及文件辦理登記事宜;為公眾提供服務以查閱並取得法定登記冊所載的公司資料;撤銷不營運但有償債能力的公司的註冊;並就與公司法和相關法例有關的政策、規管及立法事宜,以及企業管治向政府提供意見。公司註冊處亦負責處理放債人的牌照申請,並備存放債人登記冊以供公眾查閱。自 2018 年 3 月 1 日起,公司註冊處更擔任信託及公司服務提供者的發牌機構。

    截至 2019 年 3 月 31 日,登記冊上共有 1 377 000 間本地公司,其中公眾公司佔 767 間,擔保公司佔 14 241 間,私人公司佔 1 361 992 間。以電子形式成立一間本地公司所需的時間少於 1 小時,而以印本形式則為四個工作日。在 2019 年 3 月 31 日,共有 82 個國家的 11 166 間非香港公司在香港註冊。由 2019 年 4 月 1 日起,註冊一間非香港公司所需的時間為 10 個工作日。

    在 2018 年 1 月 1 日至 12 月 31 日期間,公司註冊處共收到 3 592 892 份供登記的文件,其中最常見的是周年申報表、註冊辦事處地址、董事及公司秘書更改通知書。

    公眾人士可登入該處的網上查冊中心(www.icris.cr.gov.hk),該處的公司查冊流動平台 (www.mobile-cr.gov.hk)或前往該處位於香港金鐘道 66 號金鐘道政府合署 13 樓的公眾查冊中心,查閱註冊公司的最新資料以及所有登記文件的數碼影像。市民亦可以英文或中文查閱五種電腦化索引:公司名稱索引 供成立新公司或更改公司名稱之用;文件索引 記錄公司交付該處登記的文件;董事索引 載有一份註冊公司董事及備任董事擔任的所有董事職務一覽表; 取消資格令紀錄冊 記錄所有被法院取消擔任公司董事或其他資格的人士;押記登記冊 則提供公司已登記的押記名單,以及每項押記的基本資料。

    公司註冊處的電腦化資料庫可供查閱的資料範圍廣泛,包括公司的基本資料,例如成立日期、是否仍在登記冊上或正在辦理清盤手續,另加有關註冊辦事處地址(只適用於本地公司)、在香港主要營業地點的地址及獲授權代表的資料(只適用於註冊非香港公司)、股本結構、現任董事及備任董事(如有的話)的資料、公司秘書資料、接管人、經理人和清盤人的資料(如有的話),以及公司有否設定押記。

    營運基金運作模式:公司註冊處是一個以營運基金形式運作的政府部門,即該處全部開支須由所得收入支付。

    公司註冊處處長是公司註冊處營運基金的總經理,負責管理和處理公司註冊處的事務,以達到該處所訂下的工作及財政目標。處長亦須就這些事務向財經事務及庫務局常任秘書長(財經事務)負責。營運基金的年報載有審計署署長就其帳目所作出的報告,年報每年均提交立法會省覽。

    提升服務情況與未來發展:公司註冊處已分兩階段推出「公司註冊處綜合資訊系統」,使該處的核心業務全面電腦化和提供電子化服務。在第一階段開發的電子查冊服務已在2005 年 2 月 28 日推出。第二階段包括開發一個可以電子形式成立公司的入門網站。自 2011 年 3 月於新的「註冊易」(www.eregistry.gov.hk)網站推出一站式電子公司註冊及商業登記服務後,申請者可於 1 小時內一併獲發電子「公司註冊證明書」和「商業登記證」。

    公司註冊處於 2015 年 3 月推出全面電子提交文件服務,該項服務涵蓋周年申報表及所有指明表格。自 2012 年 8 月,亦提供「周年申報表 e 提示」服務。利用上述的電子提交服務,申報表可於12小時內登記,供公眾查閱。

    公司註冊處於 2016 年 5 月推出全面公司查冊流動版服務,該項服務涵蓋所有查冊服務及功能。2017 年 2 月,該處推出了免費的「CR交表易」流動應用程式,以便利「註冊易」用戶使用流動裝置交付表格。自 2017 年 11 月起,「CR交表易」涵蓋了 13 款較常提交的表格,包括成立本地公司的申請表、周年申報表及申報公司詳情更改的表格。

    新公司條例: 在 2006 年年中,政府展開全面重寫《公司條例》的工作,以加強香港作為國際商業及金融中心的地位及競爭力。重寫工作的目的,旨在加強企業管治、方便營商、確保規管更為妥善及使公司法例現代化。《公司條例草案》於 2011 年 1 月提交立法會,並於 2012 年 7 月獲通過成為新《公司條例》。新條例已於 2014 年 3 月 3 日實施。根據新條例實施後的運作經驗和持份者的意見,政府於 2018 年再次修訂新條例,2018 年公司(修訂)(第 2 號)條例已於 2019 年 2 月 1 日實施,以反映新條例實施後的新發展,使新條例更清晰和易於實施,並使在香港營商更為方便。

    信託或公司服務提供者發牌制度:香港法例第 615 章《打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集條例》(下稱「《打擊洗錢條例》」)引入一個發牌制度。在該發牌制度下,信託或公司服務提供者須向公司註冊處處長申請牌照,並須符合「適當人選」準則,方可在香港經營提供信託或公司服務的業務。信託或公司服務持牌人須遵從《打擊洗錢條例》附表 2 所載有關客戶盡職審查及備存紀錄的法定規定。

    破產清盤管理

    架構: 破產管理署由破產管理署署長掌管。該署在 1992 年 6 月 1 日成立,接管了當時註冊總署轄下的破產管理科的職權,並執行其職務。破產管理署署長一經法院或債權人委任,即擔任遭法院根據《公司(清盤及雜項條文)條例》頒令清盤的公司的清盤人,或遭法院根據《破產條例》宣布破產的個別人士或合伙人的破產案受託人。

    破產管理署共有四個部,分別是:個案處理部、法律事務部、財務部和行政部。個案處理部的工作由破產管理職系人員擔當,負責把有關資產變現和分發、監察外間清盤人及受託人的操守,以及執行有關破產清盤事宜的條例。法律事務部的工作由合資格的律政人員擔當,負責處理民事訴訟、提供內部一般法律諮詢服務、調查和檢控破產清盤案中的違法人士,以及向法院申請向無力償債公司的董事發出取消董事資格令。財務部的工作由庫務及會計職系人員擔當,負責調查破產清盤案的財務及會計事宜、按法定程序稽核帳目,以及管理破產清盤案所涉及的款項,並把這些款項用作投資。行政部的工作由行政主任、法定語文主任和文書職系人員擔當,負責提供一般行政服務,務使該署運作順利。

    破產/清盤服務:一旦法院向個別人士發出破產令或向某家公司發出清盤令,破產管理署署長即成為個別破產人財產的暫行受託人或有關公司的臨時清盤人。若有關財產帳戶的資產預計不超過 20 萬元(大部分破產清盤案屬於這一類別),破產管理署署長便可向法院申請簡易程序令,並成為有關財產的受託人或清盤人。至於非循簡易程序辦理的個案,該署會舉行債權人及分擔人會議(適用於強制清盤案),以決定應委任誰為受託人或清盤人。破產管理署署長按資產變現所得的款額、分發予債權人的資產數額,以及用作投資的款額而收取費用。在 2017/2018 年度,法院頒布了 7 528 項破產令和 292 項清盤令。

    破產管理署署長為管理破產或強制清盤案實施兩項外判計劃。第一項計劃是透過投標制度,把估計可變現資產不超過 20 萬元的循簡易程序辦理的債務人呈請的破產案外判。另一項計劃亦是通過投標制度,把估計可變現資產不超過 20 萬元的循簡易程序辦理的強制清盤案外判。

    破產管理署署長亦根據《公司(清盤及雜項條文)條例》第 IVA 部的條文向行為不當的無力償債公司董事展開法律程序,向法院申請命令取消他們擔任公司董事的資格。在2017/2018 年度,法院共發出 17 項取消董事資格令。

    效率改善情況與未來發展:破產管理署承諾為香港提供符合國際標準的高質素破產清盤服務,目標是確保香港站於主要國際金融中心前列位置,並確保該署按既定的服務標準和目標,以開放和負責任的態度,為市民提供最完善的服務。

    市民可免費索閱有關破產管理署的服務承諾,以及破產、強制公司清盤和「個人自願安排」資料的小冊子。該署成立的服務諮詢委員會,成員為該署主要客戶的代表,主要功能是蒐集客戶意見和建議如何改善服務。

    破產管理署使用兩個主要的電腦系統來管理和處理數據。第一個是「破產/清盤案財產帳戶款項及會計系統」。這個系統為個案處理工作提供所需設施,並通過提供內容更充實的資料報告和加快檢索財政資料的速度,使有關財產帳戶寄存該署的款項的會計和管理工作得以完成。而另一個系統則是「破產管理署管理資訊系統」,其功能是提供準確和最新的破產清盤案統計數字和支援雙語查冊設備。自 2002 年 10 月起,市民可以24小時透過互聯網上的聯機查冊服務,進行破產案或強制清盤案的查冊。

    改善公司破產法例:政府已全面檢討《公司(清盤及雜項條文)條例》中有關公司破產的條文,而《2016 年公司(清盤及雜項條文)(修訂)條例》已於 2017 年 2 月實施。該修訂條例旨在加強對債權人的保障,精簡清盤程序,以及強化在清盤架構下的規管。除了改善現時的公司破產條文,政府正着手制訂有關新的法定企業拯救程序及在無力償債情況下營商的條文的立法建議。當局計劃於 2019/2020 立法年度就企業拯救程序及在無力償債情況下營商的條文向立法會提交條例草案。

     
返回首頁按鈕