Search

Terrorist Financing and Financing of Proliferation of Weapons of Mass Destruction

The detail of this page
Terrorist financing ("TF")

According to the FATF's definition, TF is the financing of terrorist acts, and of terrorists and terrorist organizations. In relation to TF, particular attention should be drawn to the provisions of the United Nations (Anti-Terrorism Measures) Ordinance (Chapter 575)("UNATMO") which, among other things, criminalizes the provision or collection of property and making any property or financial (or related) services available to terrorists or terrorist associates. Please refer to Chapter 8 of the Guideline on Compliance of Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing Requirements for Trust or Company Services Providers where the requirements under the relevant provisions in the UNATMO and other requirements in relation to TF are set out.

In May 2018, amendments to the UNATMO came into operation to further prohibit any person from dealing with specified terrorist property and property of a specified terrorist or terrorist associate under section 8A of the UNATMO, as well as the financing of the travel of a person between states for the purpose of perpetration, planning or preparation of, or participation in, terrorist acts or the provision or receiving of terrorist training under section 11L of the UNATMO.

Financing of proliferation of weapons of mass destruction ("PF")

In relation to PF, particular attention should be drawn to the provisions of the Weapons of Mass Destruction (Control of Provision of Services) Ordinance (Chapter 526) ("WMD(CPS)O"), and the United Nations Sanctions (Democratic People's Republic of Korea) Regulation (Chapter 537AE) and the United Nations Sanctions (Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action—Iran) Regulation (Chapter 537BV) made under the United Nations Sanctions Ordinance (Chapter 537) ("UNSO") which implement sanctions against Democratic People's Republic of Korea and Iran respectively.

Activities, transactions or relationships that are suspected to be related to weapons of mass destruction proliferators should be handled with great caution as it is an offence under section 4 of WMD(CPS)O to provide any service to another person where he believes or suspects, on a reasonable grounds, that those services may be connected to PF. The provision of services covers a wide range of activities and includes the lending of money or other provision of financial assistance.

Back To Top Button

搜尋

恐怖分子資金籌集及大規模毀滅武器擴散資金籌集

這個頁面的主要內容
恐怖分子資金籌集

根據財務行動特別組織的定義,恐怖分子資金籌集是指為恐怖主義行為、恐怖分子及恐怖分子組織籌集資金。關於恐怖分子資金籌集方面,請特別注意《聯合國(反恐怖主義措施)條例》(第575章)(下稱「《聯合國反恐條例》」)的條文。除其他事項外,《聯合國反恐條例》訂明,向恐怖分子或與恐怖分子有聯繫者提供或籌集財產,或向他們提供任何財產或金融(或有關的)服務,均屬違法。請參閱《信託或公司服務提供者遵從打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集規定的指引》第8章,該指引列舉了《聯合國反恐條例》的相關條文所訂明的規定及與恐怖分子資金籌集有關的其他規定。

經修訂的《聯合國反恐條例》已於2018年5月生效。有關修訂進一步禁止任何人處理指明的恐怖分子財產,或指明的恐怖分子或與恐怖分子有聯繫者的財產(《聯合國反恐條例》第8A條),以及禁止資助任何人往來不同國家以作出、籌劃、籌備或參與恐怖主義行為或提供或接受恐怖主義培訓(《聯合國反恐條例》第11L條)。

大規模毀滅武器擴散資金籌集

關於大規模毀滅武器擴散資金籌集方面,請特別注意《大規模毀滅武器(提供服務的管制)條例》(第526章)的條文,以及根據《聯合國制裁條例》(第537章)訂立的規例:《聯合國制裁(朝鮮民主主義人民共和國)規例》(第537AE章)《聯合國制裁(聯合全面行動計劃——伊朗)規例》(第537BV章)。該兩條規例分別對朝鮮民主主義人民共和國及伊朗實施制裁。

懷疑與大規模毀滅武器擴散者有關的活動、交易或關係,必須小心處理。因為根據《大規模毀滅武器(提供服務的管制)條例》第4條,某人(下稱「該人」)提供任何服務予他人,而該人基於合理理由相信或懷疑該等服務可能涉及大規模毀滅武器擴散資金籌集,即屬犯罪。提供服務涵蓋多種行為,包括借出款項或以其他方式提供財政資助。

返回首頁按鈕