Search

Overview

The detail of this page

The Companies Ordinance (Cap. 622) (“CO”) provided for a new inspection regime for personal information on the Companies Register (“the Register”) maintained by the Companies Registry (“the Registry”).

The Register maintained by the Registry contains personal information available for public inspection.  Such personal information includes, among other data, the usual residential addresses (“URAs”) and full identification numbers (“IDNs”) of directors of companies, and full IDNs of company secretaries and some other individuals (such as liquidators and provisional liquidators).  Similar personal information is also contained in the registers kept by companies which are open for public inspection.

Pursuant to the relevant provisions of the CO concerning the New Inspection Regime which were passed by the Legislative Council in July 2012 but had not fully commenced, correspondence addresses instead of URAs of directors and partial IDNs instead of full IDNs of directors, company secretaries and other relevant persons would be made available on the Register for public inspection.  The URAs and full IDNs (“Protected Information”) would only be accessible by “specified persons” upon application.  Similarly, companies may withhold from public inspection the Protected Information on the registers they have kept.

The New Inspection Regime will be implemented in three phases.  Details of the phased implementation are as follows:-

  1. Phase 1

    From 23 August 2021, companies may replace URAs of directors with their correspondence addresses, and replace full IDNs of directors and company secretaries with their partial IDNs on their own registers for public inspection;

  2. Phase 2

    From 24 October 2022, Protected Information on the Index of Directors on the Register will be replaced with correspondence addresses and partial IDNs for public inspection.  Protected Information contained in documents filed for registration after commencement of this phase will not be provided for public inspection.  “Specified persons” could apply to the Registry for access to Protected Information of directors and other persons; and

  3. Phase 3

    From 27 December 2023, data subjects could apply to the Registry for protecting from public inspection their Protected Information contained in documents registered with the Registry (“Withheld Information”), and replace such information with their correspondence addresses and partial IDNs.  “Specified persons” could apply to the Registry for access to Withheld Information of directors and other persons.

Comprehensive information on Phase 1 of the New Inspection Regime, including external circular, frequently asked questions etc. are available in this thematic section.

The detailed arrangements for implementation of Phase 2 and Phase 3 of the New Inspection Regime will be announced on this website and updated in this thematic section nearer the time.



Back To Top Button

搜尋

概覽

這個頁面的主要內容

《公司條例》(第622章)就公司註冊處(下稱「本處」)備存的公司登記冊內所載的個人資料訂明新查冊安排。

本處備存公司登記冊供公眾查閱,當中包含個人資料。該等個人資料包括公司的董事的通常住址及完整身分識別號碼,以及公司秘書和某些其他人士(例如清盤人及臨時清盤人)的完整身分識別號碼等。由公司備存的登記冊上亦載有類似的個人資料予公眾查閱。

根據《公司條例》有關新查冊安排的相關條文(這些條文於2012年7月獲立法會通過,但尚未完全生效),公司登記冊會以董事的通訊地址代替通常住址,以及以董事、公司秘書及其他相關人士的部分身分識別號碼代替完整號碼,讓公眾查閱。通常住址及完整身分識別號碼(下稱「受保護資料 」)只可由「指明人士」透過申請取得。同樣,由公司備存的登記冊上,公司可以收起受保護資料不予公眾查閱。

新查冊安排分三個階段實施。有關的分階段落實詳情如下:

  1. 第一階段

    於 2021 年 8 月 23 日開始,公司可在其登記冊上以董事的通訊地址代替通常住址,及董事和公司秘書的部分身分識別號碼代替完整號碼予公眾查閱;

  2. 第二階段

    於 2022 年 10 月 24 日開始,公司登記冊中董事索引所載的受保護資料,將以通訊地址及部分身分識別號碼代替讓公眾查閱。在這階段開始後向本處登記的文件中所載的受保護資料,將不再提供予公眾查閱。「指明人士」可向本處提出取覽董事等人的受保護資料;及

  3. 第三階段

    於 2023 年 12 月 27 日開始,資料當事人可向本處申請不提供已在本處登記的文件所載的受保護資料(下稱「不提供的資料」),並以其通訊地址及部分身分識別號碼代替讓公眾查閱。「指明人士」可向本處提出取覽董事等人的不提供的資料。

有關新查冊安排的第一階段的全面資訊,包括對外通告、常見問題等,已上載本欄目。

有關第二階段和第三階段新查冊安排,本處將會在其臨近實施的時間於本網頁公布落實詳情,並更新本專設欄目。

返回首頁按鈕