Search

Legislation

The detail of this page

Hong Kong has put in place a number of legislation to underpin the implementation of a robust anti-money laundering and counter-terrorist financing (“AML/CTF”) regime. These include:

Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing Ordinance (“AMLO”), Cap. 615

The AMLO provides for the statutory requirements relating to customer due diligence (“CDD”) and record-keeping for specified financial institutions and designated non-financial businesses and professions, including trust or company service providers (“TCSPs”). The Companies Registry is the regulatory body for TCSPs. The AMLO introduces a licensing regime for TCSPs requiring them to apply for a licence from the Registrar of Companies and satisfy a “fit-and-proper” test before they can provide trust or company services as a business in Hong Kong.

Drug Trafficking (Recovery of Proceeds) Ordinance (“DTROPO”), Cap. 405

The DTROPO provides for the tracing, confiscation and recovery of the proceeds of drug trafficking, and creates offences relating to the handling of those proceeds or property representing those proceeds, and for incidental or related matters. The DTROPO imposes a universal obligation on suspicious transaction reporting on all persons and entities if they have knowledge or suspicion that proceeds of drug trafficking are involved in any transactions.

Organized and Serious Crimes Ordinance (“OSCO”), Cap. 455

The OSCO provides for the powers of investigation into organized crimes and the proceeds of crime of certain offenders; the restraint and confiscation of proceeds of crime; creating offences relating to the handling of proceeds of crime or property representing the proceeds of crime; and for ancillary and connected matters. The OSCO imposes a universal obligation on suspicious transaction reporting on all persons and entities if they have knowledge or suspicion that criminal proceeds are involved in any transactions.

United Nations (Anti-Terrorism Measures) Ordinance (“UNATMO”), Cap. 575

The UNATMO provides for the implementation of the United Nations Security Council Resolution 1373 relating to measures for the prevention of terrorist acts. In that connection, it also implements the United Nations International Convention for the Suppression of Terrorist Bombings, the United Nations Convention for the Suppression of Unlawful Acts Against the Safety of Maritime Navigation and the United Nations Protocol for the Suppression of Unlawful Acts Against the Safety of Fixed Platforms Located on the Continental Shelf. The UNATMO imposes a universal obligation on suspicious transaction reporting on all persons and entities if they have knowledge or suspicion that any property is terrorist property.

In addition, the United Nations (Anti-Terrorism Measures) (Amendment) Ordinance 2018 was enacted on 21 March 2018 to prohibit any person from dealing with specified terrorist property and property of specified terrorists or terrorist associates, as well as to criminalise, among other things, the financing of the travel of individuals between states for the purpose of perpetration, planning or preparation of, or participation in, terrorist acts or the provision or receiving of terrorist training. The amendments came into operation on 31 May 2018.

United Nations Sanctions Ordinance (“UNSO”), Cap. 537

The UNSO provides for the imposition of sanctions against places outside the People’s Republic of China arising from Chapter 7 of the Charter of the United Nations. Regulations are made to implement sanctions, at the instructions made by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the People's Republic of China. A number of regulations made under the UNSO are directly relevant to the AML/CTF objectives. These are the United Nations Sanctions (Afghanistan) Regulation 2012, Cap. 537AX, the United Nations Sanctions (Joint Comprehensive Plan of Actions—Iran) Regulation, Cap. 537BV, and the United Nations Sanctions (Democratic People’s Republic of Korea) Regulation, Cap. 537AE.

Weapons of Mass Destruction (Control of Provision of Services) Ordinance, (“WMDO”), Cap. 526

The WMDO prohibits the provision of services that will or may assist the development, production, acquisition or stockpiling of weapons of mass destruction in Hong Kong or elsewhere. For the purpose of the WMDO, the provision of services covers a wide range of activities, such as financing, sourcing of materials, the provision of training, technological information or know-how, and other consulting services.

Back To Top Button

搜寻

法例

这个页面的主要内容

为了稳健地推行打击洗钱及恐怖分子资金筹集活动制度,香港订立了多条法例,包括:

《打击洗钱及恐怖分子资金筹集条例》(下称《打击洗钱条例》) (第615章)

《打击洗钱条例》向指明金融机构及指定非金融业人士(包括信托或公司服务提供者)施加有关客户尽职审查和备存纪录的法定规定。公司注册处是信托或公司服务提供者的监管机构。《打击洗钱条例》引入信托或公司服务提供者发牌制度,规定该等服务提供者须向公司注册处处长申请牌照,并符合适当人选准则,方可在香港经营提供信托或公司服务的业务。

《贩毒(追讨得益)条例》(第405章)

《贩毒(追讨得益)条例》订定有关索究、没收及追讨贩毒得益的条文,订立关于处理该等得益或关乎该等得益的财产的罪行,以及述明各项附带或有关事宜。该条例规定,所有人及实体如知悉或怀疑任何交易牵涉贩毒得益,便须提交可疑交易报告。

《有组织及严重罪行条例》(第455章)

《有组织及严重罪行条例》就下列事宜订定条文:侦查有组织罪行及某些犯罪者的犯罪得益的权力;禁制和没收犯罪得益;订定关于处理犯罪得益或关乎犯罪得益的财产的罪行;以及述明附带及相关事宜。该条例规定,所有人及实体如知悉或怀疑任何交易牵涉犯罪得益,便须提交可疑交易报告。

《联合国(反恐怖主义措施)条例》(下称《联合国反恐条例》) (第575章)

《联合国反恐条例》订定条文,以实施联合国安全理事会第1373号决议中关于防止恐怖主义行为的措施的决定。就此,《联合国反恐条例》把联合国《制止恐怖主义爆炸的国际公约》、联合国《制止危及海上航行安全非法行为公约》,以及联合国《制止危及大陆架固定平台安全非法行为议定书》付诸实施。该条例规定,所有人及实体如知悉或怀疑任何交易牵涉恐怖分子财产,便须提交可疑交易报告。

另外,《2018年联合国(反恐怖主义措施)(修订)条例》在2018年3月21日获得通过,该修订条例禁止任何人处理指明的恐怖分子财产,或与指明的恐怖分子或与恐怖分子有联系者的财产,以及把资助任何人往来不同国家以作出、筹划、筹备或参与恐怖主义行为或提供或接受恐怖主义培训等列为刑事罪行。上述修订已于2018年5月31日生效。

《联合国制裁条例》(第537章)

《联合国制裁条例》订定根据《联合国宪章》第七章对中华人民共和国以外地方施加制裁的条文。就此,中华人民共和国外交部已指示订立相关规例以实施制裁。而多条已根据《联合国制裁条例》订立的规例直接关乎打击洗钱及恐怖分子资金筹集,包括《2012年联合国制裁(阿富汗)规例》(第537AX章)《联合国制裁(联合全面行动计划——伊朗)规例》(第537BV章),以及《联合国制裁(朝鲜民主主义人民共和国)规例》(第537AE章).

《 大规模毁灭武器 ( 提供服务的管制 ) 条例 》(第526章)

《 大规模毁灭武器 ( 提供服务的管制 ) 条例 》禁止任何人士提供服务以协助发展、生产、取得或储存大规模毁灭武器,不论有关活动是在香港或别处进行。就该条例而言,提供服务包含多种行为,如提供资金、物资、培训、科技资讯或知识,以及其他顾问服务。

返回首页按钮