[Skip to Content]

 
 
Q1. Am I free to choose any name I want for my company?
   
Q2. How to determine if a company name is "the same as" another?
   
Q3.

How can I know whether the company name I intend to use is the same as a name appearing in the Index of Company Names kept by the Registrar of Companies?

 
Q4.

How can I know whether the company name I intend to use is identical to a name that has been subject to a change of name direction issued by the Registrar of Companies?

 
Q5.

How can I know whether the company name I intend to use has once been used by other companies?

 
Q6.

Can I use both English letters and Chinese characters in a company name?

 
Q7.

Can I use simplified Chinese characters in the Chinese company name of a local company?

 
Q8. Is it possible to register a company with a Chinese name only?
 
Q9. Can an English company name end with the word "Ltd"?
 
Q10. How can a company change its name after incorporation?
 
Q11. Can the name of a company be swopped with the name of another company under the same corporate group? What documents should I deliver to the Companies Registry for consideration?
 
Q12. Can I raise objection to a registered company name if I consider that it is "too like" my company name?
 
Q13. What will be the consequences if a company fails to comply with the change of name direction issued by the Registrar of Companies?
 
Q14. I have already registered the name of my limited company with the Companies Registry. Can I use the registered company name as a trademark? Will my company name be protected as a registered trademark automatically?
 
Q15. Will the Trade Marks Registry give approval to the registration of the name of my limited company as a trademark because I have registered it with the Companies Registry?
 
Back Page

 
Q1.

Am I free to choose any name I want for my company?

 
Answer:
No. There are some restrictions on the registration of company names. Generally speaking, a company name will not be registered if: -
a) it is the same as a name appearing in the Index of Company Names kept by the Registrar of Companies ("the Registrar");
b) it is the same as that of a body corporate incorporated or established under an Ordinance;
c) in the opinion of the Registrar, its use would constitute a criminal offence; or
d) in the opinion of the Registrar, it is offensive or otherwise contrary to the public interest.

Moreover, some company names require the approval of the Registrar before they can be registered. These include names which contain any of the words or expressions set out in the Companies (Words and Expressions in Company Names) Order (Cap. 622A) and names which would be likely to give the impression that the company is connected in any way with the Central People's Government or the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region or any department or agency of either government.

In addition, a name which is identical to a name that has been subject to a change of name direction issued by the Registrar will not be registered except with the consent of the Registrar. Please refer to Q4 for details of the search on the old company names for which change of name directions have been issued.

Please refer to the Guideline on Registration of Company Names for Hong Kong Companies (pdf format) for details.

 
Back to Top
Q2.

How to determine if a company name is "the same as" another?

 
Answer:

In determining whether a company name is "the same as" another, certain words and their abbreviations will be disregarded. These words include the definite article where it is the first word of a name and the words "company", "and company", "company limited", "and company limited", "limited", "unlimited", "public limited company", the characters "公司", "有限公司", "無限公司" and "公眾有限公司" where they appear at the end of the name. The type or cases of letters, spaces between letters, accent marks, and punctuation marks, will be disregarded.


The following expressions "and" and "&", "Hongkong", "Hong Kong", and "HK", "Far East" and "FE" are respectively to be taken as the same.

In addition, a Chinese character is to be regarded as the same as another Chinese character if the Registrar is satisfied, having regard to the usage of the 2 characters in Hong Kong, that the 2 characters can reasonably be used interchangeably.


Please refer to the Guideline on Registration of Company Names for Hong Kong Companies (pdf format) for details.

 
Back to Top
 
Q3.

How can I know whether the company name I intend to use is the same as a name appearing in the Index of Company Names kept by the Registrar of Companies?

 
Answer:

You may conduct a company name search free of charge through the Companies Registry's Cyber Search Centre or Company Search Mobile Service or at its Public Search Centre on the 13th floor of the Queensway Government Offices, 66 Queensway, Hong Kong.


Please use the "Exact Name Search" mode and input the full and exact company name that you intend to register, including all spaces, punctuation marks, and ending terms like "Company", "Company Limited", "Limited", "有限公司", "公司" etc. The Exact Name Search result will display the current names of live companies which match exactly with the input characters. Only English or traditional Chinese characters should be used as the search language. Inputting other languages or simplified Chinese characters may result in incorrect search result as the system will display a "no matching record found" message.

 
Back to Top
 
Q4.

How can I know whether the company name I intend to use is identical to a name that has been subject to a change of name direction issued by the Registrar of Companies?

 
Answer:

You can conduct a search (free of charge) on the list containing these old company names by clicking the 'hyperlink' provided on the screen displaying the company name search result.

 
Back to Top
 
Q5.

How can I know whether the company name I intend to use has once been used by other companies?

 
Answer:

You may conduct a company name search free of charge through the Companies Registry's Cyber Search Centre or Company Search Mobile Service or at its Public Search Centre on the 13th floor of the Queensway Government Offices, 66 Queensway, Hong Kong.


Please use the "Left Partial Search" mode and input any number of the initial characters of the intended company name. Please do not enter ending terms such as "Company", "Company Limited", "Limited", "有限公司", "公司" etc. The search result will display all the current and old names of companies which contain the same initial characters regardless of the companies' active status and company type. Only English or traditional Chinese characters should be used as the search language. Inputting other languages or simplified Chinese characters may result in incorrect search result as the system will display a “no matching record found” message.

 
Back to Top
 
Q6.

Can I use both English letters and Chinese characters in a company name?

 
Answer:

No. A company name with a combination of English words/letters and Chinese characters will NOT be registered.

 
Back to Top
 
Q7.

Can I use simplified Chinese characters in the Chinese company name of a local company?

 
Answer:

No. The Chinese company name of a local company must be in traditional Chinese characters.

 
Back to Top
 
Q8.

Is it possible to register a company with a Chinese name only?

 
Answer:

Yes, a company may be registered with a Chinese name only. A company may also be registered with an English name only or both an English name and a Chinese name.

 
Back to Top
 
Q9.

Can an English company name end with the word "Ltd"?

 
Answer:

No. Although the word "Ltd" is considered to be the same as "Limited", section 102 of the Companies Ordinance requires that the last word of an English company name of a limited company must be "Limited" .

 
Back to Top
 
Q10. How can a company change its name after incorporation?
 
Answer:

A company may pass a Special Resolution to change its name after incorporation. A "Notice of Change of Company Name" (Form NNC2) should be delivered within 15 days after the passing of the Special Resolution together with the required fee either electronically through the "e-Registry" portal (www.eregistry.gov.hk) or in hard copy form to the Shroff on the 14th floor of the Queensway Government Offices. The change of name will be effective from the date on which the Certificate of Change of Name is issued. Please note that the Special Resolution on change of name and the Articles of Association as altered in relation to change of company name need not be delivered to the Registry.


Please also refer to the information pamphlet on Change of Name of a Local Limited Company (pdf format) for details.

 
Back to Top
 
Q11. Can the name of a company be swopped with the name of another company under the same corporate group? What documents should I deliver to the Companies Registry for consideration?
 
Answer:
Yes. Please deliver the following documents to the Companies Registry for consideration:
i) a letter explaining in detail why the names swop is required;
ii) a “Notice of Change of Company Name” (Form NNC2) of each of the two companies swopping names together with the fee of HK$295 for each form; and
iii) mutual consent letters from the two companies releasing the names for re-use.

If the names swop is acceptable, a Certificate of Change of Name will be issued to the two companies swopping names on the same date.
 
Back to Top
 
Q12. Can I raise objection to a registered company name if I consider that it is "too like" my company name?
 
Answer:
Yes. If you consider that a company name registered after the incorporation of your company is "too like" the name of your company, you may lodge an objection with the Registrar of Companies ("the Registrar") giving full reasons and providing any available evidence of alleged confusion. Under section 108(3) of the Companies Ordinance, the Registrar may direct a company to change its name within 12 months after the date of registration by the name ("the statutory period") if, in the Registrar's opinion, the name is "too like" a name previously registered. Hence, in order to enable the Registrar to make enquiries and serve notices that may be required before the expiry of the statutory period, objection should be made to the Registrar in good time, preferably at least one month before the expiry of the statutory period.
 
Back to Top
 
Q13. What will be the consequences if a company fails to comply with the change of name direction issued by the Registrar of Companies?
 
Answer:

Non-compliance with the change of name direction issued by the Registrar of Companies may result in the prosecution of the company and/or its officers. The maximum penalty for failure to comply is a fine of $100,000, as well as a daily default fine of $2,000 for continuing default. The Registrar may also change the company name with the company registration number.


Please refer to the Guideline on Registration of Company Names for Hong Kong Companies (pdf format) for details.

 
Back to Top
 
Q14.
I have already registered the name of my limited company with the Companies Registry. Can I use the registered company name as a trademark? Will my company name be protected as a registered trademark automatically?
 
Answer:
Company registration and trademark registration in Hong Kong serve different purposes. They are regulated by different laws and registration systems administered by different government departments. The Companies Registry is responsible for the registration of local limited companies and companies incorporated outside Hong Kong which have established a place of business in Hong Kong, while the Trade Marks Registry administered by the Intellectual Property Department ( www.ipd.gov.hk/eng/trademarks.htm ) is responsible for the registration of trademarks. Having the name of a limited company registered with the Companies Registry does not automatically confer on the company the right to use its name as a trademark in promoting or dealing in goods and services. You have to file an application with the Trade Marks Registry for trademark registration in order to obtain the protection under the Trade Marks Ordinance (Cap. 559).
 
Back to Top
 
Q15. Will the Trade Marks Registry give approval to the registration of the name of my limited company as a trademark because I have registered it with the Companies Registry?
 
Answer:
Company registration and trademark registration in Hong Kong serve different purposes. They are regulated by different laws and registration systems administered by different government departments. The Companies Registry is responsible for the registration of local limited companies and companies incorporated outside Hong Kong which have established a place of business in Hong Kong, while the Trade Marks Registry administered by the Intellectual Property Department is responsible for the registration of trademarks. The fact that the name of your company has been registered with the Companies Registry does not mean that it is registrable as a trademark. The Registrar of Trade Marks examines each application to ensure that the requirements under the Trade Marks Ordinance (Cap. 559) and Trade Marks Rules (Cap. 559A) are satisfied. For details, please visit the website of the Intellectual Property Department: www.ipd.gov.hk/eng/trademarks.htm
 
Back to Top

[Skip to Content]

 
 
問1. 我是否可隨意擬用任何公司名稱?
   
問2. 怎樣斷定一個公司名稱是否與另一個公司名稱「相同」?
   
問3.

怎樣可以得知我擬用的公司名稱是否與公司註冊處處長備存的《公司名稱索引》內的名稱相同?

 
問4.

我怎樣可以得知擬用的公司名稱是否與一個曾被處長指示更改的公司名稱相同?

 
問5.

怎樣可以得知我擬用的公司名稱是否曾被其他公司使用?

 
問6.

我可否同時以中、英文字註冊公司名稱?

 
問7.

本地公司的中文名稱可否用簡體中文字?

 
問8. 公司可否只註冊中文名稱?
 
問9. 公司英文名稱的最後一個字可否是"Ltd"?
 
問10. 公司註冊成立後如何更改名稱?
 
問11. 同一公司集團旗下的某公司的名稱可否與另一間公司的名稱調換? 我須要向公司註冊處交付甚麼文件?
 
問12. 如果我發現另一間公司的名稱與我的公司名稱「太過相似」,我可否反對該名稱繼續註冊?
 
問13. 公司如果沒有遵從公司註冊處處長發出的更改名稱指示,會有甚麼後果?
 
問14. 我的有限公司名稱已於公司註冊處辦理登記手續,我是否可以利用該有限公司名稱作為商標使用?該名稱會否自動獲得註冊商標的保護?
 
問15. 商標註冊處會否因為我的有限公司名稱已於公司註冊處註冊而批予該名稱成為我的註冊商標?
 
上一頁


 
問1.

我是否可隨意擬用任何公司名稱?

 
答.

不可以,公司名稱的註冊是有限制的。一般來說,如有下列情況,公司名稱將不獲准註冊:-

a) 公司名稱與出現於公司註冊處處長(「處長」)備存的《公司名稱索引》的名稱相同;
b) 公司名稱與根據某條例成立或設立的法人團體的名稱相同;
c) 處長認為使用的公司名稱會構成刑事罪行;或
d) 處長認為公司名稱屬令人反感或因其他原因屬違反公眾利益的。

此外,如公司名稱包含《公司(公司名稱所用字詞)令》(第622A章)所列明的字或詞,或公司名稱會令人產生印象,覺得該公司與中央人民政府或其任何部門或機關、或香港特別行政區政府或其任何部門或機關有任何方面的聯繫,則須先獲得處長的批准,才可註冊。

再者,如公司名稱與一個曾被處長指示更改的公司名稱相同,除非已獲得處長同意,否則該名稱將不獲批准註冊。有關查閱該等曾被處長指示更改的前用名稱的詳情,請參閱問4

詳情請參閱《香港公司名稱註冊指引》(pdf格式)。

 
頁首
 
問2.

怎樣斷定一個公司名稱是否與另一個公司名稱「相同」?

 
答.

斷定一個公司名稱是否與另一個公司名稱「相同」時,不須理會某些字或詞和該等字或詞的縮寫,這些字或詞包括作為英文名稱第一個字的定冠詞,以及在英文名稱末端出現的 "company","and company","company limited","and company limited","limited","unlimited","public limited company",及在中文名稱末端出現的「公司」,「有限公司」,「無限公司」和「公眾有限公司」。字母的字體、字母的大楷或小楷、字母之間的空位、重音符號、及標點符號都不須予理會。


而英文的「and」和「&」;「Hongkong」、「Hong Kong」和「HK」,以及「Far East」和「FE」則分別視為相同。


此外,如處長在顧及某兩個中文字在香港的使用情況後,信納該兩個中文字按理可相互交替使用,則該兩個字會視為相同。詳情請參閱《香港公司名稱註冊指引》(pdf格式)。

 
頁首
 
問3.

怎樣可以得知我擬用的公司名稱是否與公司註冊處處長備存的《公司名稱索引》內的名稱相同?

 
答.

你可透過公司註冊處的網上查冊中心或使用公司查冊流動版服務或到金鐘道政府合署13樓公眾查冊中心,免費查閱公司名稱。


請使用「以全名查冊」的方式,輸入擬用的整個公司名稱,包括所有空位、標點符號及末端的字眼(例如"Company Limited"、 "Limited"、"Company"、「有限公司」、「公司」等)。「以全名查冊」的查冊結果會顯示完全符合輸入的字元而仍在登記冊上的公司的現用名稱。查冊語言只可使用英文或繁體字。輸入其他語言或簡體字,系統會顯示「沒有紀錄相符」,因而導致錯誤的查閱結果。

 
頁首
 
問4.

我怎樣可以得知擬用的公司名稱是否與一個曾被處長指示更改的公司名稱相同?

 
答.

載列該等前用公司名稱的名單可於〈查閱公司名稱結果〉的頁面上點擊免費查閱。

 
頁首
 
問5.

怎樣可以得知我擬用的公司名稱是否曾被其他公司使用?

 
答.

你可透過公司註冊處的網上查冊中心或使用公司查冊流動版服務或到金鐘道政府合署13樓公眾查冊中心,免費查閱公司名稱。


查閱公司名稱時,請使用「以名稱起首」的方式輸入你擬註冊的公司名稱起首任何數目的字元,但切勿輸入公司名稱末端如 「Company」、「Company Limited」、「Limited」、 「有限公司」、「公司」等字詞。查冊結果會顯示所有起首字元符合輸入的字元的公司名稱,不論是現用或前用名稱,或公司的現況如何和屬於什麼類別。查冊語言只可使用英文或繁體字。輸入其他語言或簡體字,系統會顯示「沒有紀錄相符」,因而導致錯誤的查閱結果。

 
頁首
 
問6.

我可否同時以中、英文字註冊公司名稱?

 
答.

不可以,公司名稱如由中文字與英文字/字母組合而成,將獲准註冊。

 
頁首
 
問7.

本地公司的中文名稱可否用簡體中文字?

 
答.

不可以,本地公司的中文名稱必須是繁體中文字。

 
頁首
 
問8.

公司可否只註冊中文名稱?

 
答.

公司可以只註冊中文名稱,也可以只註冊英文名稱或同時註冊一個中文名稱和一個英文名稱。

 
頁首
 
問9.

公司英文名稱的最後一個字可否是"Ltd"?

 
答. 不可以,雖然"Ltd"和"Limited"被視為相同。根據《公司條例》第102條的規定,有限公司的英文名稱的最後一個字必須為"Limited"。
 
頁首
 
問10. 公司註冊成立後如何更改名稱?
 
答.

公司註冊成立後,可通過特別決議,更改公司的名稱。公司須於特別決議獲通過後的15日內,透過本處電子服務「註冊易」網站(www.eregistry.gov.hk)以電子形式交付填妥的表格 NNC2「更改公司名稱通知書」及所須費用;或到金鐘道政府合署14樓收款處以印本形式交付表格NNC2及費用。「公司更改名稱證明書」發出之日,即公司更改名稱生效的日期。請注意,更改名稱的特別決議及經修改的公司組織章程細則(如只修改公司名稱)無需交付本處。


詳情請參閱本地公司更改名稱小冊子(pdf格式)。

 
頁首
 
問11. 同一公司集團旗下的某公司的名稱可否與另一間公司的名稱調換? 我須要向公司註冊處交付甚麼文件?
 
答.
可以。請交付以下文件,以便本處考慮調換公司名稱的要求:
i) 一封解釋信,充分解釋為何須要調換公司名稱;
ii) 該兩間調換名稱的公司的「更改公司名稱通知書」(表格NNC2) 各一份,及每份表格的費用港幣295元;及
iii) 該兩間調換名稱的公司所發出的互相同意書,說明雙方均同意讓對方使用其名稱。

如調換名稱獲接納,該兩間調換名稱的公司將於同一日期獲發「公司更改名稱證明書」。
 
Back to Top
 
問12. 如果我發現另一間公司的名稱與我的公司名稱「太過相似」,我可否反對該名稱繼續註冊?
 
答.

可以。如你發現另一間公司(以下簡稱「該公司」)在你的公司成立以後,以一個與你公司名稱「太過相似」的名稱註冊,你可向公司註冊處處長(「處長」)提出反對,詳述反對理由,提供任何可以證明引起混淆的證據。如處長認為兩者「太過相似」,處長可根據《公司條例》第108(3)條,於該公司名稱註冊的日期後的12個月內(以下簡稱「法定期限」),指示該公司更改名稱。因此,有關公司名稱的反對書應及早(最好在處長發出指示的法定期限屆滿前的一個月或之前)送交處長,以便處長在法定期限屆滿前進行調查,並在適當情況下送達通知書。

 
頁首
 
問13. 公司如果沒有遵從公司註冊處處長發出的更改名稱指示,會有甚麼後果?
 
答.

公司如不遵從公司註冊處處長發出的更改名稱指示,公司及/或其高級人員可被檢控,最高刑罰為罰款100,000元,如持續失責,則可處按日計算的失責罰款2,000元。處長亦可以將公司的名稱更改為公司的註冊編號。


詳情請參閱《香港公司名稱註冊指引》(pdf格式)。

 
頁首
 
問14. 我的有限公司名稱已於公司註冊處辦理登記手續,我是否可以利用該有限公司名稱作為商標使用?該名稱會否自動獲得註冊商標的保護?
 
答. 在香港,有限公司註冊和商標註冊的作用各異,它們受不同的法例規管,並由不同政府部門管理。公司註冊處負責註冊本地有限公司和在香港以外成立為法團並於香港設立營業地點的非香港公司,而由知識產權署管理的商標註冊處( www.ipd.gov.hk/chi/trademarks.htm )則負責辦理商標註冊。因此,即使你公司的名稱在公司註冊處註冊,並不表示公司有必然權利將公司名稱作為商標,使用於推廣或經營其貨品或服務上。你必須另行向商標註冊處申請註冊你的商標,才可獲得根據《商標條例》(第559章)所授予的保護。
 
頁首
 
問15. 商標註冊處會否因為我的有限公司名稱已於公司註冊處註冊而批予該名稱成為我的註冊商標?
 
答. 在香港,有限公司註冊和商標註冊的作用各異,它們受不同的法例規管,並由不同政府部門管理。公司註冊處負責註冊本地有限公司和在香港以外成立為法團並於香港設立營業地點的非香港公司,而由知識產權署管理的商標註冊處則負責辦理商標註冊。因此,即使你已使用該名稱在公司註冊處註冊了本地有限公司或非香港公司,並不代表該公司名稱可以獲得商標註冊。商標註冊處會就每一宗商標註冊的申請進行審批,以決定該申請是否符合《商標條例》(第559章)及《商標規則》(第559A章)所訂明的註冊條件。有關商標註冊的詳情,可瀏覽知識產權署網頁︰ www.ipd.gov.hk/chi/trademarks.htm
 
頁首