Obligations of a Company

A company is a separate legal entity, that is, it is a legal person in its own right and separate from its owners. The benefit of limited liability through operating as a limited company also brings with it obligations in so much as the company must comply with the various provisions in the Companies Ordinance (Chapter 622 of the Laws of Hong Kong). These obligations include the timely disclosure and reporting of specified information about the company, its officers and shareholders, etc. and any changes in such information to the Registrar of Companies so that members of the public can have ready access to the latest information of the company kept by the Registrar of Companies.

Obligations as Officers of a Company

Every officer of a company, including its director(s), company secretary or manager, has the responsibility to ensure that the company has complied with all the provisions of the Companies Ordinance. If a company fails to comply with the requirements of the Ordinance, the company and every responsible person of the company shall be liable to prosecution and, if convicted, default fines.

In particular, any person appointed to act as a first director of a company must either signify his agreement by signing his/her Consent to Act as Director on the incorporation form, or by confirming the consent in a Form NNC3. The Form NNC3 should be delivered to the Registrar of Companies not later than 15 days after the date of incorporation of the company, failing which the company, every responsible person (including an officer) of the company, and the founder member who signs the incorporation form, commit an offence and each is liable to a fine and, for a continuing offence, to a further daily default fine.

The Companies Registry has issued 'A Guide on Directors’ Duties' (pdf Format) which outlines the general principles that a director should observe in performing his duties and exercising his powers. All directors should read these guidelines.

If you are in doubt about the nature of your responsibilities and obligations as an officer of a company, you should seek independent legal or professional advice.

How to Fulfill Your Obligations?

 
 

Deliver statutory returns to the Registrar of Companies for registration within the prescribed time periods in accordance with the requirements of the Companies Ordinance.

 

Keep an eye on your company's records and ensure that the company has delivered an annual return and other notices of changes in respect of the address of registered office, directors and company secretary etc. to the Registrar of Companies. You can conduct free document index searches and, if required, searches on the company's particulars at our Cyber Search Centre or through our Company Search Mobile Service to ascertain whether the company's public record is up-to-date and accurate. You can also subscribe the 'e-Monitor' service at our e-Registry to keep an eye on the updating of information of your company on the Companies Register and monitor unauthorised filings or alterations of information of your company in the public records.

 

Notify the Registrar of Companies immediately either by email to crenq@cr.gov.hk or by fax to (852) 2596 0585 if you note that the particulars of your company are incorrect or have been changed as a result of mistakes in any registered documents or unauthorised filing of documents with the Registrar of Companies.

Note:

Under the Professional Accountants Ordinance (Chapter 50), only firms of certified public accountants (practising) or corporate practices registered with the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants (the "Institute") or certified public accountants holding a valid practising certificate issued by the Institute are lawfully qualified to provide auditing services (for the purposes of the Hong Kong Companies Ordinance (Chapter 622)). You may refer to the Hong Kong CPA Practice Directory (https://www.hkicpa.org.hk/app/hkicpa_app/practicedirectory/index.php) and the Institute's membership list (https://app1.hkicpa.org.hk/membership/list/members/index.php (Eng only)) for further information.

公司的責任

公司是獨立的法律實體,換言之,公司本身是獨立於公司擁有人的法人。有限公司享有以有限法律責任經營業務的好處,同時也必須履行責任,遵從《公司條例》(香港法例第622章)各項條文的規定,包括按時向公司註冊處處長披露和申報指明的公司及其高級人員和股東等資料,以及申報這些資料的更改,以便公眾人士可隨時查閱公司註冊處處長備存的最新公司資料。

公司高級人員的責任

公司每名高級人員,包括董事、公司秘書及經理均有責任確保公司遵從《公司條例》所有條文的規定。如公司未有遵從條例的規定,公司及其每名責任人各可被檢控,一經定罪,可被處以失責罰款。

任何人士出任公司首任董事,必須在法團成立表格內簽署「出任董事職位同意書」,或在表格NNC3簽署同意書。表格NNC3必須在公司成立為法團的日期後15日內交付公司註冊處處長。如違反上述規定,公司、其每名責任人(包括高級人員)及簽署法團成立表格的創辦成員,均屬犯罪,可各被處罰款;如持續違反,則可再被處按日計算的失責罰款。

公司註冊處發出的董事責任指引(pdf格式)簡介公司董事在履行責任和行使權力時應遵守的一般原則,所有董事均應閱讀。

如你對身為公司高級人員的責任和義務有任何疑問,應徵詢獨立的法律或專業意見。

如何履行責任?

 
 

按照《公司條例》的規定,在訂明時限內向公司註冊處處長交付法定申報表。

 

留意你公司的紀錄,並確保公司已向公司註冊處處長交付周年申報表及其他有關更改註冊辦事處地址、董事及公司秘書等資料的通知書登記。你可登入本處的網上查冊中心或使用本處的公司查冊流動版服務,免費查閱公司的文件索引。如有需要,亦可查閱公司資料,以確定公司的公眾紀錄是否載有最新和準確的資料。你亦可在「註冊易」訂用「監察易」服務,關注公司登記冊內你公司資料的更新,並監察公司的公眾紀錄有否未經授權的文件登記,或公司資料有所變更。

 

如你發現公司的資料不正確,或已登記的文件有誤或有人未經授權而向公司註冊處處長交付文件,以致公司的資料有所更改,請立即以電郵:crenq@cr.gov.hk或傳真:(852) 2596 0585方式通知公司註冊處處長。

根據《專業會計師條例》(第50章),只有已向香港會計師公會(下稱「公會」)註冊為執業會計師事務所或執業法團,或持有公會發出的有效執業證書的會計師,在法律上才符合資格提供《公司條例》(第622章)下所需的審計工作。詳細資料請參考香港註冊會計師事務所名錄(https://www.hkicpa.org.hk/app/hkicpa_app/practicedirectory/index.php) 及公會的會員名單(https://app1.hkicpa.org.hk/membership/list/members/index.php (只有英文名單))。