Our Prosecution Policy

The Registrar of Companies ("the Registrar") is responsible for enforcing provisions of the Companies Ordinance and is delegated with the authority to prosecute cases of non-compliance.

Companies should observe their responsibilities to comply with the various provisions of the Companies Ordinance including their filing obligations. The Registrar may issue summonses in the Magistrates' Courts against defaulting companies which have failed to deliver or are late in delivering their statutory returns within the prescribed time periods. The Registrar will also consider taking prosecution action for other offences under the Companies Ordinance. You may view the 'Prosecution Cases - Highlights' under the 'Compliance' section of this website for examples of the cases.

Punishment and Penalty

Upon conviction of minor regulatory offences under the Companies Ordinance, the court will impose a fine on the company. The fine generally composes of a fine for the breach of the relevant section of the Companies Ordinance and a daily default fine for the number of days late in delivery, if applicable. The amount of fine is determined by the Magistrate presiding at the hearing, having regard to the maximum penalty laid down in the relevant sections of the Companies Ordinance and its subsidiary legislation and section 113B of the Criminal Procedure Ordinance (Chapter 221 of the Laws of Hong Kong). In particular, the maximum level of fine for a company which fails to comply with the requirements for completing and delivering annual returns is a fixed penalty of $50,000 and a daily default fine of $1,000 for each day in the case of a continuing offence. Public and listed companies usually attract a more severe penalty than private companies.

For more serious regulatory offences under the Companies Ordinance, the penalty will include fine and imprisonment. In particular, if any person in any return, report, financial statements, certificate or other document required by or for the purposes of any provision of the Companies Ordinance, knowingly or recklessly makes a statement that is misleading, false or deceptive in any material particular, he / she commits an offence and is liable on conviction to a fine and imprisonment.

Reporting Non-compliance with the Companies Ordinance

If you believe that there has been a breach of the Companies Ordinance by a company or an individual who is connected with the company, you can inform us by lodging a Complaint Form - Reporting Breaches of the Companies Ordinance.

Investigation actions will be taken where appropriate.

Note: The Companies Registry, however, will not investigate any complaint where the subject of the complaint concerns an internal management dispute between the directors / shareholders of the company or it is claimed that members' personal rights have been infringed.

Company Names Complaints

Registration of a company name does not mean that the name is protected, neither does it mean that such a name is not liable to challenge by others. If the name is considered to be “too like” the name of another company appearing in the Registrar’s Index of Company Names or if the Registrar receives a court order restraining a company from using its name or part of it, a change of name direction will be issued against that company.

Any person who considers that the name of a company is 'too like' that of a previously registered company may submit an objection to the company name to the Registrar, giving reasons in full and including any available evidence of confusion which is claimed to have arisen. Objections to company names should be made to the Registrar in good time (preferably at least one month before the expiry of the statutory period within which the Registrar may issue the direction) so as to enable the Registrar to make enquiries and serve notice under section 108(1)(a) or (b) of the Companies Ordinance before the expiry of the statutory period, which is 12 months after the date of registration of that company name.

The criteria which the Registrar will apply in forming an opinion on whether two company names are 'too like' and the circumstances under which the Registrar will issue a direction to change a company name are set out in the 'Guideline on Registration of Company Names for Hong Kong Companies' (pdf Format).

Further, it should be noted that if the adopted name infringes the intellectual property rights of a third party, the company may face legal action by that third party. Infringement of the intellectual property rights of others may attract criminal or civil sanctions, either in Hong Kong or elsewhere. The registration of a company name with the Companies Registry does not confer any trademark rights or any other intellectual property rights in respect of the company name or any part thereof. Applicants should, therefore, ensure that they do not adopt a name which resembles a registered trademark or is “too like” the name of another company.

Registrar's Direction to Company to change its name

A direction to change a company name is a legal instruction issued by the Registrar to a company directing it to change its name.

A company which has been issued with a change of name direction is required to change its company name to a new name registrable under section 100 of the Companies Ordinance and to deliver the Notice of Change of Company Name (Form NNC2) to the Registrar within the period specified in the direction. Failure to comply with the direction to change company name may result in the company and/or every responsible person of the company being prosecuted. The maximum penalty is a fine of $100,000, as well as a daily default fine of $2,000 for any continuing default. Pursuant to section 110 of the Companies Ordinance, the Registrar may also change the company name with the company registration number, if the company fails to comply with the Registrar's direction to change its name.

List of Companies which have failed to comply with directions to change names

You may click to view the following lists:

Prosecution Statistics

檢控政策

公司註冊處處長(「處長」)負責執行《公司條例》各項規定,並獲授權檢控未有遵從法規的個案。

公司有責任遵從《公司條例》各項規定,包括履行交付文件的責任。對於在訂明時限內未有或逾期交付法定申報表的失責公司,處長可在裁判法院向公司發出傳票,予以檢控。處長亦會考慮對觸犯《公司條例》其他條文的公司採取檢控行動。有關個案實例詳情,請參閱本網頁「遵從法規」>「檢控個案概況」一欄。

懲處和罰則

公司觸犯《公司條例》內輕微的規管罪行,一經法院定罪,可被法院判處罰款。罰款一般包括違反相關《公司條例》條文的罰款,以及按逾期交付文件日數計算的失責罰款(如適用)。罰款額由主審裁判官在參考《公司條例》及其附屬法例的有關條文及《刑事訴訟程序條例》(香港法例第221章) 第113B條訂明的最高罰款額後決定。具體而言,未有遵從規定製備和交付周年申報表的公司可被處最高定額罰款50,000元,以及按日計算的失責罰款每日1,000元。對公眾公司和上市公司處以的罰則一般會較私人公司嚴厲。

公司觸犯《公司條例》內較嚴重的規管罪行,罰則會包括罰款及監禁。具體而言,任何人如在《公司條例》任何條文規定須交付或製備,或在須為《公司條例》任何條文的目的而交付或製備的申報表、報告、財務報表、證明書或其他文件中,明知或罔顧實情地作出一項在任何要項上具誤導性、虛假或具欺騙性的陳述,該人即屬犯罪,一經定罪,可被處罰款及監禁。

關於違反《公司條例》的舉報

如你認為某公司或與該公司有關連的負責人違反了《公司條例》的規定,可使用關於舉報違反《公司條例》的投訴表格向本處舉報。

本處會視乎適當情況進行調查。

注意:如投訴事項涉及公司董事/股東之間的內部管理糾紛,或關乎公司成員聲稱個人權利受損,本處將不會展開調查。

投訴公司名稱

公司名稱獲得註冊並不表示該名稱受到保護,也不表示該名稱不會遭其他人反對。如該名稱被認為與出現於處長備存的《公司名稱索引》內的另一公司名稱「太過相似」,或是如處長接獲法院命令禁制公司使用其名稱或名稱某部分,處長會向該公司發出更改名稱指示。

任何人士如覺得某公司的名稱與另一個較先註冊的公司的名稱「太過相似」,可就該公司名稱向處長提出反對,並詳述反對理由,包括任何可以證明已經引起混淆的證據。有關公司名稱的反對書應及早(最好在處長發出指示的法定期限屆滿前的一個月或之前) 送交處長,以便處長在該公司名稱註冊的日期後的12個月的法定期限屆滿前進行調查,並在必要時根據《公司條例》第108(1)(a)或(b)條送達通知書。

有關處長斷定兩個公司名稱是否「太過相似」時所採用的準則,以及在什麼情況下會發出更改公司名稱指示,已載於《香港公司名稱註冊指引》 (pdf格式)。

此外,如所採用的名稱侵犯第三方的知識產權,該第三方可向該公司採取法律行動。侵犯他人的知識產權可招致在香港或其他地方受到刑事或民事制裁。公司名稱獲公司註冊處註冊,並不表示獲授予該公司名稱或其任何部分的商標權或任何其他知識產權。因此,申請人應確保採用的名稱不會與註冊商標相似或與另一公司的名稱「太過相似」。

處長發出的更改公司名稱指示

更改公司名稱指示是處長就要求公司更改名稱而發出的法律指示。

公司接獲更改公司名稱指示後,須於指示所指明的期限內更改一個可根據《公司條例》第100條註冊的公司名稱,並向處長交付「更改公司名稱通知書」(表格NNC2)。如不遵從指示更改公司名稱,公司及/或其每名責任人各可被檢控。最高刑罰為罰款100,000元,如持續失責,則可被處按日計算的失責罰款2,000元。處長亦可根據《公司條例》第110條,在有關公司沒有遵從指示更改公司名稱時,將公司的名稱更改為公司的註冊編號。

未有遵從指示更改名稱的公司名單

你可閱覽下列名單

檢控數字