Search

Holding of General Meetings by Companies during the period of the Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) Pandemic

The detail of this page

With a view to combating the COVID-19 pandemic, the Government has introduced measures to implement social distancing, including making the Prevention and Control of Disease (Prohibition on Group Gathering) Regulation, Cap. 599G of the Laws of Hong Kong (“Regulation”), which has come into operation on 29 March 2020. 

Pursuant to the Prevention and Control of Disease (Prohibition on Group Gathering) (Amendment) (No. 10) Regulation 2020, the number of persons allowed in group gatherings in public places is relaxed from 2 to 4.  With effect from 11 September 2020, group gatherings of more than 4 persons are prohibited in any public place (“prohibition”) till 29 October 2020, and the period may be further extended by notice published in the Gazette (“Specified Period”).

The Regulation has been further amended by the Prevention and Control of Disease (Prohibition on Group Gathering) (Amendment) (No. 12) Regulation 2020 (“Amendment Regulation”) on 20 October 2020.  The Amendment Regulation, among other things, relaxed the conditions for the exemption for group gatherings during certain meetings with effect from 23 October 2020.

Details of the Regulation as amended is available at the Government's COVID-19 dedicated webpage at https://www.coronavirus.gov.hk/

This section seeks to answer some questions relating to the holding of general meetings by companies in the light of the Regulation as amended.


  1. “Public place” is defined under section 2 of the Regulation to mean “a place to which the public or a section of the public may or are permitted to have access from time to time, whether by payment or otherwise”.


  2. If a general meeting is not held at a public place as defined in the Regulation, the Regulation does not apply to such meeting.

    For instance, insofar as general meetings held by private companies are held at a place to which the public do not have access, such meetings will generally not be subject to the restrictions under the Regulation.


  3. Item 11 of Schedule 1 of the Regulation (“Item 11”) provides an exemption for any “group gathering during any of the following meetings at which no food or drink is served and, in the case of a group gathering of more than 50 persons, measures are in place for separating the participants in the gathering in different rooms or partitioned areas, each accommodating not more than 50 persons—

    1. a meeting of a body that must be held within a specified period in order to comply with any Ordinance or other regulatory instrument that governs the operation of the body or its business;
    2. a shareholders’ meeting of a company listed on a recognized stock market (as defined by section 1 of Part 1 of Schedule 1 to the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Cap. 571)) that is held in accordance with any Ordinance or other regulatory instrument that governs the operation of the company or its business”.

    1. Subject to paragraph (2) below, all shareholders’ meetings, including (i) annual general meetings (“AGMs”) as required under the Companies Ordinance (Cap. 622) (“CO”) and/or the Main Board Listing Rules or the GEM Listing Rules; and (ii) extraordinary general meetings and special general meetings of Hong Kong-listed companies, regardless of whether or not they must be held within a specified period, are generally exempted from the prohibition.
    2. In order to be exempted from the prohibition, the meetings must comply with the following conditions:
      • no food or drink is served during the meeting

      • if the participants in the meeting consist of more than 50 persons, they should be separated in different rooms or partitioned areas, each accommodating not more than 50 persons


  4. For listed companies, please also refer to the websites of the Securities and Futures Commission and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited for any latest updates.


    1. AGMs as required under the CO generally fall within paragraph (a) of Item 11, subject to such meetings complying with the following conditions:
      • no food or drink is served during the meeting

      • if the participants in the meeting consist of more than 50 persons, they should be separated in different rooms or partitioned areas, each accommodating not more than 50 persons

      As to the requirement and timing for holding AGMs, please refer to Q2 and Q7 of the FAQs on “Meetings, Resolutions and Company Records”.

    2. Under the CO, there are some provisions which require certain resolutions of members to be made within a specified period. For cases where resolutions of members have to be passed at a general meeting other than an AGM within a specified period, paragraph (a) of Item 11 may also apply to such meeting, provided that the meeting complies with the following conditions:
      • no food or drink is served during the meeting

      • if the participants in the meeting consist of more than 50 persons,  they should be separated in different rooms or partitioned areas, each accommodating not more than 50 persons

    3. Whether other types of general meetings fall within paragraph (a) of Item 11 will have to be determined on a case by case basis with reference to any specific requirements under the relevant Ordinance or other regulatory instruments governing the holding of such meeting.


  5. As public health and safety is of paramount importance, all persons have a part to play in combating the transmission and spread of COVID-19. Companies are urged to consider the possibility of deferring or adjourning their general meetings until after the expiration of the Specified Period taking into account whether—

    • the timing of holding the general meeting is subject to any statutory requirement;

    • any such requirement is capable of extension, waiver or otherwise; and

    • any business to be dealt with at the meeting is of such urgency and importance that necessitates the holding of the meeting.


    1. There are a number of measures that a company is advised to consider and adopt, where appropriate, in the conduct of a general meeting.

      (A) Hybrid meetings

      The CO facilitates a hybrid meeting, namely, a physical meeting together with a form of electronic participation using tele-conferencing, video-conferencing or other electronic means.

      By virtue of section 584, a company is expressly permitted to hold a general meeting at 2 or more places by using technology that enables members who are not at the same place to listen, speak and vote, subject to the provisions of the company’s articles of association (“articles”). In this connection, companies may review their articles to see if a hybrid general meeting is permissible. 

      To reduce the need for physical attendance, companies are highly encouraged to use technology and digital tools to hold hybrid general meetings. For meetings that are held at different venues, video-links could be provided to allow attendees at each venue to participate.

      Pursuant to section 576 of the CO, if a general meeting is to be held at 2 or more places, the principal place of the meeting and the other place or places of the meeting must be specified in the notice of meeting.

      (B) Pre-registration and proxy voting

      In order to better manage the number of members that may attend the meeting, companies may consider requesting members to pre-register if they (or their proxies) wish to attend the meeting in person. Companies may also encourage members to vote by proxy, or, if practicable, by electronic modes of voting, and to submit their questions to management in writing before the meeting.

      Under section 585(3) of the CO, where a company has more than 1 member, subject to the provisions of the company’s articles, 2 members present in person or by proxy is a quorum of a general meeting of the company. The right to appoint a proxy and the procedures relating to the appointment of proxies are stipulated in sections 596 to 608 of the CO (Subdivision 9 of Division 1 of Part 12).

      (C) Restriction on the number of attendees in different rooms or partitioned areas

      As stipulated in Item 11, if the attendees of a general meeting consist of more than 50 persons, companies must ensure that there are measures in place to separate the attendees in different rooms or partitioned areas, each accommodating not more than 50 persons.

      In the interest of public health, companies are strongly advised to restrict the physical attendance of attendees of a general meeting at any one venue as far as practicable and to implement the precautionary measures set out below to achieve social distancing.

      (D) Other precautionary measures

      Companies are also strongly advised to implement appropriate precautionary measures at the meeting venue where a general meeting is to be held. These measures include, for example -

      • arranging for body temperature to be taken for all persons entering the meeting venue, and those with high body temperature will not be allowed to enter the venue;

      • requiring all persons entering the meeting venue to wear a face mask;

      • providing hand sanitizers for use by persons entering the meeting venue;

      • providing sanitizing mats at the entrance of the meeting venue; and

      • arranging for appropriate physical distancing between seats.


      Companies are also advised to set out the meeting arrangements and precautionary measures to be adopted in the notice of meeting as far as practicable so as to keep their members informed.

    Back To Top Button

搜尋

公司在新型冠狀病毒病(2019冠狀病毒病)疫情大流行期間舉行成員大會

這個頁面的主要內容

為應對2019冠狀病毒病疫情大流行,政府已實施多項措施以減少社交接觸,包括訂立《預防及控制疾病(禁止羣組聚集)規例》(香港法例第599G章)(下稱《規例》)。《規例》自2020年3月29日起實施。 

根據《2020年預防及控制疾病(禁止羣組聚集)(修訂)(第10號)規例》,在公眾地方進行羣組聚集的人數限制由2人放寬至4人。由2020年9月11日至2020年10月29日期間,不得在任何公眾地方進行多於4人的羣組聚集,有關期間可藉在憲報刊登公告再延長(下稱「指明期間」)。

《規例》於2020年10月20日藉《2020年預防及控制疾病(禁止羣組聚集)(修訂)(第12號)規例》(下稱《修訂規例》)再修訂。除其他事項外,《修訂規例》自2020年10月23日起,就於若干會議上的羣組聚集,放寬有關豁免條件。

經修訂的《規例》的詳情請瀏覽政府的2019冠狀病毒病專題網頁:
 https://www.coronavirus.gov.hk/

本部份旨在解答一些有關在經修訂的《規例》實施下舉行成員大會的問題。


  1. 《規例》第2條界定「公眾地方」是指「公眾人士或部分公眾人士可以或獲准不時在繳費或不繳費下進入的地方」。


  2. 如成員大會並非是在《規例》所界定的公眾地方舉行,則《規例》並不適用於該會議。

    例如,只要私人公司所舉行的成員大會是在公眾人士不得進入的地方舉行,在一般情況下,該等會議便不受《規例》的限制。


  3. 《規例》附表1第11項(下稱「第11項」)給予以下豁免:「於以下任何會議上的羣組聚集,前提是於該會議上並無供應食物或飲品,而如屬多於50人的羣組聚集,該會議上亦設有措施,將該聚集的參與者分散於不同房間或區隔範圍,每個房間或範圍容納不多於50人 —

    1. 任何團體的會議,前提是該會議須在指明期間內舉行,以遵守任何條例或符合規管該團體的運作或事務的其他規管性質文書;
    2. 任何於《證券及期貨條例》(第571章)附表1第1部第1條所界定的認可證券市場上市的公司的股東會議,前提是該會議是按照任何條例或規管該公司的運作或事務的其他規管性質文書舉行」。


    1. 在符合第(2)段的情況下,所有股東會議,包括(i) 《公司條例》(第622章)及/或《主板上市規則》或《GEM上市規則》所規定的周年成員大會(下稱「周年大會」);及(ii)香港上市公司舉行的股東特別大會,不論有關會議是否須在指明期間內舉行,在一般情況下均獲豁免。
    2. 有關會議須符合下列條件方可獲豁免:
      • 不得在該會議期間提供食物或飲品

      • 若參與該會議的人士多於50人,該等人士需分散於不同房間或區隔範圍,每個房間或範圍容納不多於50人


    1. 就上市公司而言,請參閱證券及期貨事務監察委員會及香港聯合交易所有限公司的網頁,以了解最新情況。


      1. 在符合下列條件的情況下,《公司條例》所規定舉行的周年大會,在一般情況下是屬於第11項(a)段所涵蓋的範圍內:
        • 不得在該會議期間提供食物或飲品

        • 若參與該會議的人士多於50人,該等人士需分散於不同房間或區隔範圍,每個房間或範圍容納不多於50人

        就舉行周年大會的規定及時限,請參閱有關「會議、決議及公司紀錄」的常見問題問2及問7。

      2. 在《公司條例》下,有部分條文規定某些成員決議須在指定期限內作出。如成員決議須在某個指定期限內在非周年大會的成員大會上通過,在符合下列條件的情況下,第11項(a)段亦可適用於該會議:
        • 不得在該會議期間提供食物或飲品

        • 若參與該會議的人士多於50人,該等人士需分散於不同房間或區隔範圍,每個房間或範圍容納不多於50人

      3. 至於其他類別的成員大會是否屬於第11項(a)段所涵蓋的範圍內,則須在參考相關條例的具體規定或規管舉行該會議的其他規管性質文書後,按個別情況決定。


      1. 由於公眾衛生和安全至關重要,全民皆有責任防止2019冠狀病毒病的傳染和傳播。因此,我們促請各公司在顧及下列因素後,考慮可否將其成員大會押後或延期至指明期間屆滿之後舉行:

        • 舉行成員大會的時間是否受法例規定所約束;

        • 有關時間的約束,能否作出順延、豁免,或以其他方式免除;及

        • 會議上須處理的事務是否如此緊急及重要,以致必須舉行有關會議。


      2. 我們建議公司可視乎情況,考慮並採取下列措施以進行成員大會:

        (A)  混合式會議

        《公司條例》容許混合式會議的舉行,混合式會議是指實體會議,並同時藉採用電話會議、視像會議或其他電子方式,讓成員以電子形式參與該會議。

        除公司的組織章程細則(下稱「章程細則」)的條文另有規定外,《公司條例》第584條明確容許公司使用令該公司身處不同地方的成員能夠在成員大會上聆聽、發言及表決的任何科技,在2 個或多於2 個地方舉行成員大會。為此,公司可檢視其章程細則,以確定其章程細則是否容許混合式成員大會的舉行。

        為減低成員親身出席會議的需要,我們十分鼓勵公司在舉行成員大會時使用科技及數碼工具舉行混合式會議。如會議在不同場地舉行,公司可提供視像連接,令每個場地的與會者可同時參與會議。

        如成員大會於2 個或多於2 個地方舉行,則公司須注意,根據《公司條例》第576條,公司須在成員大會通知內指明舉行該成員大會的主要會場及舉行該成員大會的其他會場。

        (B)  預先登記及委任代表進行表決

        為了更妥善管理可能出席會議的成員人數,公司可以考慮要求擬親身(或委派代表)出席會議的成員預先登記。公司亦可鼓勵成員委派代表代其表決或(如切實可行的話)以電子形式進行表決,並在會議舉行之前以書面向管理層遞交其問題。

        根據《公司條例》第585(3)條,如公司有多過1名成員,除公司的章程細則的條文另有規定外,2名親身出席或委派代表出席的成員,即構成該公司成員大會的法定人數。《公司條例》第596至608條(第12部第1分部第9次分部)訂明委任代表的權利及與委任代表有關的程序。

        (C)  限制於不同房間或區隔範圍的與會者人數

        按第11項的規定,如出席成員大會的人士多於50人,公司必須確保會議上設有措施,將出席人士分散於不同房間或區隔範圍,每個房間或範圍容納不多於50人。

        為保障市民健康,我們強烈建議,公司應在切實可行範圍內限制在任何一個會議場地親身出席成員大會的人數,並採取下文所列的預防措施以減少社交接觸。

        (D)  其他預防措施

        此外,我們亦強烈建議公司在舉行成員大會的會議場地採取合適的預防措施。該等措施包括以下各項:

        • 安排為所有進入會議場地的人士量度體溫,體溫高於正常度數的人士將不獲准進入會場;

        • 規定所有進入會議場地的人士均須佩戴口罩;

        • 提供酒精搓手液給進入會議場地的人士使用;

        • 在會議場地的入口處設置消毒地氈;及

        • 座位之間預留適當的空間距離。

        我們亦建議公司在切實可行範圍內,在成員大會通知內載列會議安排及將會採取的預防措施,以讓其成員知悉有關情況。

      返回首頁按鈕